How to nail your job interview!

Happy Monday!

Since we (or many of us) are on summer break, now is the perfect time to start thinking about ‘that’ word – a job. Now in my opinion, I’ve always had this dread about getting a job but in total honesty, it’s not that bad!

Over a month ago, I applied for a position as a waitress in a restaurant at my local holiday park. I heard from my many friends that work there that it’s a lovely place to work so I was open to apply there. So I did it. I called and by surprise, no interview was necessary. Instead, I got offered a trial. Being new to the world of waitressing, I’m not sure if this is how it works but I took the offer and went down on a sunny Saturday to start. I had a tour around the ‘behind the scenes’ of the restaurant, being taught how everything works, where everything goes, etc… and my first assigned task was glass and plate collecting – easy enough. After my first shift of about 3 hours, I had secured a place as permanent staff. – But I didn’t stop there. I also applied for a job in a high street store to go along side my time as a waitress equalling more income. Luckily enough, I received a reply – but with the exception of an interview. The closest I’d been to an interview was for a place at college. As nerve-racking as it was, with the proper mind set and courtesy, I nailed it and now, I’m going to give you some tips on how to get the best outcome from your interview.

1.

Do your research of the shop, business, etc.. you’ve applied for, just so you’ve got an idea of what the job entails. For example, if you’ve applied to a high street store like Debenhams, do a little research on the brands that are in the certain department you have applied for.

2.

When it comes to the day of the interview, dress appropriately. In job interviews I tend to go for all black with the finish of a co-ordinating colour necklace. Black work/school trousers, black shirt or top and a tux style work jacket in black. This give you an aura of seriousness and adds well to first impressions.

3.

During the interview is the most important part (obviously). Teach yourself to reply to answers appropriately. For example, if they are asking you a yes or no answer question, learn to reply with ‘yes’ rather than ‘yeah’. Although something small, this could make a big difference to how your common courtesy looks to other people giving them another reason to give you the job is they think you can talk and handle customers with maturity.

4.

Don’t lie!! If you lie on your CV or say something opposite to what you have written on your CV then this a real give away and you’ll most likely be declined the job. Make sure you are truthful about everything and add everything you have achieved and can think of to give you extra credit – even if it has no relation to your job, these skills will give your employer a good impression of you.

5.

Pay close attention to what the employer is saying. Even though its an everyday skill, you’d be surprised how much you miss without full attention. Sit up straight in a comfortable position, place your hands on your lap and give your full attention to the interview.

6.

You’re guaranteed to be called sometime after your interview to let you know if you got the position or not. Remember, even through the phone, speak with the same maturity, friendliness and appreciation. It’s a natural human instinct to react well to a friendly manner.

7.

If you get the job – congratulations! You did it! If not, don’t feel disheartened. You won’t always get the job but keep trying! Keep doing your research, and you’ll eventually find something perfect for you!

8.

It’s natural to be nervous, but try to not let it affect you too much. Speak with confidence, keep good body language and you’ll race through it with ease!

9.

If you’re applying for a job, it’s okay to keep it to yourself and not share with your friends just yet. As selfless as you maybe, you’re doing yourself a favour by making this your priority.

10.

Have fun with it! Don’t think of it like you’re taking an exam. Think of it with excitement to start earning money. This will bring more motivation and confidence to you which are exactly the right things you need to help you get through it all.

Good luck everyone! I WISH YOU THE BEST IN YOUR INTERVIEWS AND JOBS AND IF YOU ARE APPLYING/GOING FOR AN INTERVIEW ANY TIME SOON, I’D LOVE TO KNOW HOW YOU GOT ON!

until next time my loves,

jess xo

Leave a comment